top of page


Ek Ong Kar Sat Nam Siri Wahe Guru

"Adi Shakti Mantra"

Meditation Tsankawi border .jpg

Ek Ong Kar Sat Nam Siri Wahe Guru is the classic mantra of yogic consciousness. It is a fundamental practice of Kundalini Yoga, and one of the first mantras that Yogi Bhajan taught when he came to the USA. It is a perfect daily practice. 


The sound current of this mantra vibrates the atomic bonds of your being, opening the gates of your individual awareness to that of the divine, erasing energy blocks and opening your structure so the light of your soul can permeate into your life. It has a direct influence on your Kundalini energy, clearing blocks in your energy channels and awakening your kundalini.  


This mantra was kept secret by the yogis of India because of its power and was one of the very first mantras Yogi Bhajan taught openly when he began teaching Kundalini Yoga in the U.S.A. It is referred to among practitioners as "Long Ek Ong Kar".

The meaning invokes universal expanded consciousness. Ek (One), Ong (creative force of the universe), Kar (creator) Sat (Truth) Naam (Name) Siri (Great) Wah (Wonderful beyond comprehension), Guru (the energy of moving from darkness to light)  


The pronunciation is  “Ek Onng Kaar, Sutt Naam, S’ree, Wah Hay G’roo.” As you chant each syllable feel it resonate in your spine and projecting into your electromagnetic field. With each of the eight parts of the mantra, feel yourself vibrating and releasing the flow of energy in a rising sequence through your spinal column, brain and aura as they correspond to a the level of each chakra, as follows:

  1. Ek - First Chakra - Base of your spine, corresponding to the level of the perineum

  2. Onng - Second Chakra - Lower spine, corresponding to the level of the sex organs

  3. Kaar - Third Chakra - Navel  - Lower Mid Spine, corresponding to the level of the navel

  4. Sutt - Fourth Chakra - Heart - Upper Mid Spine, corresponding to the level of the heart

  5. Naam - Fifth Chakra - Cervical area of spine corresponding to the level of the throat.

  6. S’ree - Sixth Chakra - Corresponding to the level of the third eye point, pituitary

  7. Wah - Seventh Chakra - Corresponding to the Top of Head, pineal

  8. Hey-G’roo- Eighth Chakra - Corresponding to your electromagnetic field that surrounds your body



Chant the mantra out loud with a 2 ½ breath cycle as follows:


1. Sit in a comfortable place with spine straight. This is classically done sitting in lotus or easy pose on the floor, mat, rug, animal skin or meditation cushion. It may also be done in a chair, and if sitting on the floor prevents you from doing it, by all means do sit in a chair. Be aware of your spine as it becomes more difficult to keep your spine straight, and there is a risk of falling. If you choose to sit in a chair, scoot forward away from the back rest and place your feet flat on the ground in front of you. If you need more support for physical reasons try a firm pillow between your lower spine and the backrest.​

2. Touch the tips of your index fingers to the tip of your thumb, creating the hand position called Gyan Mudra. Rest your hands on your knees. Alternatively you may choose another mudra, using another finger. I used to practice years ago with my pinky touching, in order to work on communication energy. 


3. Take some time to feel your spinal column, the flow of your breath and connect your awareness with your breathing.


4. Inhale a full breath deeply into your abdomen.

5.  Chant the first three syllables with the air from this first breath.

~ Start with the syllable “Ek”, as you contract the lower muscles from the perineum to the  lower abdomen. The sound is short and sharp. Feel the energetic vibration of this sound at the base of your spine aligned at the level of the perineum.

~ On the same breath chant Onng, extending the sound for about half the remaining air in your lungs and  vibrating the energy of it in the area of your spinal column aligned with your sex organs.

~ Chant the syllable Kaar, with the remainder of the breath in your lungs, vibrating the energy of it at the area of your spinal column aligned with your navel. The “R” sound at the very end of the breath should be rolled once so it sounds like a soft “d”, and your tongue gently touches the roof of your mouth.

6.  Inhale a full 2nd breath deeply into your abdomen.

7.  Chant the next three syllables with the air from the 2nd breath

~ Chant “Sutt”, vibrating the energy of it at the area of your heart. The syllable is short and sharp. Pull in on the navel as you chant it.

~ On the same breath chant Naam, vibrating the energy of it at the area of your spine aligned with your throat. The sound should continue for almost the entire breath, until almost all the air in your lungs is expelled.

~ With the last bit of breath chant “si-ree” vibrating the energy of it at your third eye point, at the forehead between your eyebrows. The sound is soft, and roll the“r” once, lightly touching your tongue to the roof of your mouth like a soft d. The syllable sounds much like the english word “city”, with a soft t.

8.  Inhale a half breath.

9.  Chant the next two parts with the air of this half breath

~ Chant “Wah”, vibrating the energy of it at the very top of the head. The sound is short, arising from your body and finishing at the crown chakra.

~ Chant “Hay Guh-roo” with the remainder of the air in your lungs. “Hay” should be relatively short, “guh” very short and “roo”  extended. Touch your tongue to your upper palate on the “r” , so it sounds more like a soft “d”. Essentially this “r” sound is like a combination of d with r if they could be spoken together in the English language, or like a single rolled “r” in Spanish.

10. Continue chanting the mantra for 3 to 31 minutes, repeating this 2 ½ breath cycle.

11. To finish take a deep breath and hold it for as long as you wish. Then slowly exhale and breathe normally. 

12. Sit for some time before getting up. Feel the subtle shift in your energy. Its a nice time to lie down on your back for yoga nidra. I personally like to do Sat Kriya after Long Ek Ong Kar, and then a deep relaxation. 

13. Feel loved and blessed!

bottom of page